World Food Day

Today, 16 October, is World Food Day. Check out this video and other information on the World Food Programme webiste.

2 Responses to “World Food Day”


  1. 1 Chow Chui Yin 19/10/2009 at 2:58 pm

    I have donated 300 grains of rice by playing the vocabulary game. http://www.freerice.com/index.php

    I don’t understand why people would play Animal Farm over facebook and let this application gather all their personal information like photos and friends and not play this game that can help the poor.

  2. 2 Xiong Haotao, Testa 22/10/2009 at 1:56 am

    Today’s lecture brought me to think about the fact that hundreds and thousands of people are starving to die each single second and millions of children are suffering from malnutrition. Yes, I know the fact long long time ago. But what makes me feel shamed now is I never take this problem seriously. For example, I once came across a serious of pictures taken in Africa showing how thousands of people are dying from starvation. I still remember the desperation and eagerness in their eyes. But I thought I could do nothing to help, at least in short term. And I’ve found news story in 2008 said that the rising food prices drove the poor in Haiti to eat mud cookies, or put it in a more direct way, eat yellow dirt. Unlike natural disasters such as tsunami or earthquake, starvation which makes people dying slowly or even silently could not get that much public attention.


Leave a Reply

